
Would you ever consider giving marijuana to your nine-year-old? What if the child was violent, in pain, ate fabric, and had tried every other drug available? Here’s the followup. (via Metafilter)
*
Flesh out your Halloween playlist with a scary movie you haven’t seen already. Maybe the Top 10 Creepiest Ghost Movies can give you some suggestions.
*
The Wardrobe: A Man and His Story. Never underestimate the value of a great story, and sticking to it.
*
What other worlds are most likely to harbor life? We can’t yet get the odds on exoplanets yet, so this list is for our solar system only.
*
Kiteboarding (snowboarding and flying a kite) can be a lot of fun. And then this happens. Language NSFW in a French environment.
*
Over 2000 people have seen the same face in recurring dreams. Do you recognize This Man? (via the Presurfer)
*
4 Places That Will Never See a Club Med. The reasons will become clear immediately.
http://assme.org/2009/10/12/thisman-org-is-probably-viral-marketing-so-shut-up-and-quit-freaking-out-about-him/#
This is something similar to what I thought when I saw that thisman.org site. The sketches people had supposedly done seemed to look a little similar in tone and the descriptions of dreams seemed to mostly use similar grammatical structures.
posted by Ben on 10-14-2009 at 8:41 am
The this man guy looks an a lot like neil diamond. Perhaps Neil Diamond is secretly invading dreams and giving advice. I mean the man can sing but who would have thought secret dream advice giver as well.
posted by Chris on 10-14-2009 at 9:34 am
The this man’s look is very disturbing to me. He’s like a cross between Kevin Spacey and Wallace Shawn (the ‘inconceivable!’ guy in the Princess Bride).
Something scares me about him.
posted by EV on 10-14-2009 at 10:59 am
If the thisman.org isn’t viral marketing, then the website is going to screw up the “research” – now that people have seen the man’s face, they’re going to start dreaming about him and report their “sightings,” which will make it seem like the occurrences are greater than they really are.
posted by Jenn on 10-14-2009 at 12:54 pm
Oh, my gosh, EV, me too! That picture really disturbs/scared me as well. I can’t explain it…it gave me chills.
posted by Shandi on 10-14-2009 at 1:55 pm
His face is so creepy…
posted by Ki on 10-14-2009 at 1:56 pm
wait, disturbed/scared. Blah…
posted by Shandi on 10-14-2009 at 1:56 pm
I totally thought he looked like a short haired Neil Diamond, too! And the more people look at the picture, the more people will dream about him. Bah!
(however, I now have, “Sweet Caroline,” in my head.)
posted by Helenann on 10-14-2009 at 3:13 pm
Don’t be too creeped out by the face. The consensus is that it’s a viral marketing scheme. For what, I don’t know. The domain is registered to a person who works for GuerrigliaMarketing.it soo make of that what you will.
posted by Miss Cellania on 10-14-2009 at 4:24 pm
This Man freaked me out so much! It’s so creepy, although I haven’t seen him in my dreams. It seems like something straight out of my favorite show, Fringe. Weird… has anyone checked who the domain is registered to? And for how long? If it’s a major network or company, it’s definitely viral.
posted by Leggy on 10-14-2009 at 6:17 pm
I have to admit,This Man immediately made me closed my screen lol.
posted by Nikky on 10-14-2009 at 10:56 pm
Viral marketing or not, the dream man totally raped the uncanny valley for me.
posted by icallous on 10-15-2009 at 12:10 am
The “this man” did send a definite shiver down my back. I hope I don’t dream-
OH MY GOD HE’S ON MY TOP SITES.
Sorry. Anyway, he seems to be a fake. And he looks vaguely Italian to me, so, just an observation, maybe the sketch is this infamous “Andrea Natella” himself.
Now that would be interesting.
And if the website’s a fake, then are all those stories fabricated? Just wondering.
Thanks, Miss Cellania for an another excellent Morning Cup of Links!
posted by Aimee on 10-15-2009 at 1:12 am