Listen to The Monkees’ First New Song in 20 Years

NBC Television/Courtesy of Getty Images
NBC Television/Courtesy of Getty Images / NBC Television/Courtesy of Getty Images

This summer, in celebration of the upcoming 50th anniversary of their beloved television series, The Monkees will release their first album in 20 years. Though singer Davy Jones passed away in 2012, original members Micky Dolenz, Peter Tork, and Michael Nesmith will all return for the new record, titled Good Times!, with a little help from some heavy-hitting indie rock artists.

The album’s lead single, “She Makes Me Laugh,” was written by Weezer’s Rivers Cuomo, while “You Bring The Summer” was penned by Andy Partridge of the British post-punk band XTC.

Death Cab For Cutie’s Ben Gibbard, Rogue Wave’s Zach Rogue, and Oasis’s Noel Gallagher will also contribute new songs, while Fountains of Wayne’s Adam Schlesinger produced the album (Schlesinger is also the mastermind behind the earworm “That Thing You Do!” from the fictional rock band The Wonders in the Tom Hanks-directed movie).

Good Times! will also feature a few vintage unfinished recordings that were completed for release. Jones’ vocals for “Love To Love,” written by Neil Diamond, will make it to the album, while an old demo of the titular song “Good Times” from Harry Nilsson will be remastered and turned into a duet between Dolenz and Nilsson, who also wrote “Cuddly Toy” and “Daddy’s Song” for the band.

The Monkees will go on tour throughout the United States in support of Good Times!, which will drop on June 10.

[h/t Stereogum]