In today's digital age, the camera roll of our smartphone is where many of us store our most treasured memories. Which means that browsing an iPhone album can quickly turn disastrous if you hit the wrong button. Fortunately, digital photos are harder to destroy than the physical kind—you just need to know where to look after accidentally selecting "delete."

According to Business Insider, recovering deleted photos from your iPhone is easy if you act fast. All deleted iPhone pictures go to a folder named Recently Deleted before they're wiped from your device for good after 30 days. When recovering lost photos, this is the first place you should look. (It should be listed in the Other Albums section of your Photos app). You can restore deleted images to your regular photo library by selecting them and hitting Recover in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Photos that were removed more than 30 days ago and have been deleted permanently are a little trickier to recover. Your best bet is to try restoring data from an old backup. If your iPhone uses iCloud storage, go to icloud.com and search through the Recently Deleted folder and photo stream for the lost picture.

You can also try restoring an old backup of your data from the Cloud after resetting your phone to the factory settings. This will bring back any data that was on your phone at the time of the backup, including deleted apps and texts as well as any deleted photos. You should only do this immediately after backing up the current version of your phone in case something goes wrong. If you use iTunes or a different app to back up your phone, you can restore the old data from there instead.

Accidents happen, so it's a good idea to back up your files on a regular basis if you aren't doing that already. Here are more tips for making your mobile device more secure.

[h/t Business Insider]