Mental Floss
LIVE SMARTER

Here’s How to Cancel Your Spotify Premium Subscription

Ellen Gutoskey
Alexa, play "No Tears Left to Cry."
Alexa, play "No Tears Left to Cry." / Yu Chun Christopher Wong/S3studio/Getty Images
facebooktwitterreddit

Whether you’re ready to switch to another music streaming service or you’re taking a break altogether to enjoy your long-neglected vinyl collection, you might decide it’s time to cancel your Spotify Premium subscription.

Save yourself a few minutes and don’t bother looking for an option in the app (mobile or desktop). As Lifehacker reports, you can’t cancel anything from there. Instead, pull up your favorite web browser, head to Spotify.com, and log into your account. Then, open the menu, select “Account,” and scroll until you hit the “Your plan” section. You should see a “Change plan” button—click that, scroll to the bottom of the new page, and choose “Cancel Premium.” Confirm the choice, and you’re all set.

If you decide to come back to Spotify in the future, all your music data will have been preserved, and you can reactivate your Premium subscription in the “Your plan” section. Until then, you’ll just have access to a free account (which includes ads, a limited number of song skips, and no offline listening capabilities).

How to Delete Your Spotify Account

If you’re looking for a more permanent break from the platform, you can also delete your account. Premium subscribers should start this process by first canceling their subscription, as you can only delete a Premium account by contacting customer service. Once you’ve knocked your account down to the free tier, go back to the main menu on Spotify’s website, choose “Support,” and then “Close Your Account.”

It goes without saying that you shouldn’t delete your account unless you’re absolutely certain you’ll never regret the decision. But if unanticipated regret hits you immediately after you’ve done the deed, don’t panic: There is a recovery period for closed accounts. In the confirmation email that Spotify sends after you close an account, there’s a nice big button that says “Reactivate my account.” It’ll work for seven days.

[h/t Lifehacker]

facebooktwitterreddit